A Series of Messy Events

It’s been one of those days where I wonder why did I even bother getting out of bed. Seriously, coincidental messes have been the theme for the day. Right after KR left for work, I got up, showered, dressed – like I normally do. Walking down the hallway to the kitchen, I glanced in the laundry room and noticed that one of the cats pooped right outside the middle litter box. This has become a fairly common occurrence the day after I scrub out the litter boxes and replace with clean litter. And it’s always the middle box. Why?! My best guess is that it’s some sort dominance issue or laying claim to that particular litter box by whomever (I have my suspicions as to which one is doing it, but I’ve never caught her in the act) produces the perfectly placed poop. Ugh.

After cleaning up that mess, I decided I needed a hot cup of tea to properly wake up. Before I even got the cup of water in the microwave, my elderly, projectile-vomit-puke-king puked all over my desk. This time narrowly missing my computer keyboard, but right on target for the mouse and pretty much everything else on my desk! I spent the next hour cleaning that up. I even had to individually wash my drawing pens, one by one. I also had to discard the handmade pen organizer that I made a few months ago because it wasn’t salvageable due to being made from heavy cardboard. I’ll just have to make another one. Grrr.

Finally, I made myself that cup of tea and sat down at my computer to relax for a little while. All I wanted to do was spend today reading blogs because I haven’t had the chance to do much of that this week and get in a little drawing/art time. I needed a “me” day.

Nope.

I barely had a chance to finish my tea before I heard that familiar yacking-sound in the living room. This was a neat pile of dry cat food. Are all my cats sick? Maybe, the stress is getting to them, too. I gave up on relaxing and started a load of laundry to wash all the pet bedding. While I was up and about, I went ahead and grabbed the soda cans off of KR’s desk to rinse and crush. I’ve told him time and time again that he needs to get into the habit of doing this rather than leaving them sitting on his desk because of the ant problem. He doesn’t listen. And sure enough, his desk was covered in ants. I killed 68 just on his desk, not counting the ones I washed down the kitchen drain from the actual cans. (Total squished ant count today: 134)

So, I gave his desk a good cleaning, too. I figured since I’ve cleaned both of our desks in the computer room, I might as well go ahead and vacuum while I’m at it. Half-way through vacuuming, I blew the fuse. Again. This happens quite often when I vacuum that room which worries me due to all of our electronics. It generally happens more often in winter than summer, so I think it has something to do with the space heater that we keep in that room to stay warm. The weird thing about the computer room is that most of the outlets are on one fuse box and the light switch is on a different fuse box located in the addition that was built-on prior to us moving in. How is that even up to code, having two fuse boxes? Whatever.

After I finally finished vacuuming the floor, I swept the house and cleaned out litter boxes. Those two tasks are a daily habit. They have to be. When I took the dirty litter out to the garbage, I noticed a bag of our garbage ripped open, strewn all over the yard. OMG! At this point, I was pretty pissed. I came back inside, slamming the door as hard as I could, and grabbed another garbage bag. I spent the next half hour picking up garbage and made sure the garbage can lids were firmly secured. Honestly, I’m not even sure if it was the neighbor’s dogs or the neighbor’s kids that ripped open the bag because right before I went out there I noticed 4 of the kids hanging out close to where the garbage is located.

Other than a vicious wind blowing outside, I feel calmer, now. Maybe, I can finally get in an hour or so of drawing before KR gets home from work. While I’m drawing, I think I’ll re-listen to Ajahn Brahm’s video, Anger-Eating Demons. If you only have a few minutes and want to hear the story about the Anger-Eating Demon, start watching the video at 31:10. It’s well worth it!

I think I need it after today’s series of messy events. Some days are just like that, though. One thing after another thing after another thing…. I could sit here and be aggravated by all the interruptions and the aggravation of having to do exactly the opposite of what I wanted to do – more cleaning – or I can take advantage of the moment – now – to do what I intended.

I choose the latter.

Leave a Reply

