Shattered

Shattered

 

KR is going to be furious when he gets home from work tonight and sees this. Well, he won’t see this. He’ll see a blue tarp draped over my car in case it rains and know something’s amiss. But I guarantee you, he won’t be nearly as furious as I was when the neighbor came over and knocked on my door, asking “What year and model is your car?”

I rambled off the year, make, and model before thinking to ask, “Wait, what? Why?!”

“Oh, the kids busted your back windshield.” He said calmly, as if it was nothing.

“OH MY GOD!!! Are you fucking kidding me?!” I screamed at the top of my lungs. Yes, I tend to swear worse than a drunken sailor when I’m angry. It’s like I have Tourette syndrome or something. I was beyond livid and didn’t even wait for them to explain. I simply yelled, “I’m calling the cops!” I couldn’t see straight and waited inside for the sheriff’s department to show up.

Thankfully, by the time they got here, I was calm enough to give a proper statement and listen to reason. I didn’t see it happen. I was inside working on a blog post for my other blog, which is sidetracked yet again. I heard a commotion outside and the usual yelling and swearing at the kids that I’ve heard so often come from over there; but I was trying to concentrate on what I was doing and ignore it. I had no idea what it was about until the neighbor came knocking on my door a little while later.

The deputies I spoke with were kind and understanding. From what they gathered, the children were playing basketball and one made another mad which resulted in throwing rocks that bounced off the fence and hit my car. That’s an awfully big hole to have been made by driveway gravel, not to mention there were NO rocks inside my car. Well, none where there should have been. The deputy noticed some small gravel on the passenger side up front. KR’s work boots that he so often wears tracked those into my car, but I made a note of them days ago when I saw them and realized I needed to vacuum out my car again. I just hadn’t gotten around to it yet. I’m as obsessive over my car being clean as I am about my house being clean.

Anyway, a police report will be filed on my behalf this time. I expressed my concerns to these deputies that I truly think these kids are completely out of control given so many recent complaints. I vented to them about the struggles we’ve been having in this neighborhood due to this particular family; and they stated that they were well aware of the issues. They asked me if it would be okay to have the children in question come over to properly apologize, attempting an exercise in discipline that the parents have failed to teach. I was all for it, telling them that I thought it was good idea to try this approach.

Even though the parents pointed the finger at one particular child prior to the deputies getting there, two different children approached and simply said, “Sorry.”

The deputies said, “You can do better than that.” They made another attempt at an apology, and the boy said he was the one who threw the rocks. I asked him, “Why?”

“She pushed me and I got mad; so I threw rocks at her.” The 8-year-old child said.

I bent down, looked him square in the eye, and gently said, “When you get that angry, you have to use your words, not your behavior.”

With what seemed like heartfelt sadness, he finally said, “I’m sorry. I won’t ever do it again.”

The 11-year-old girl, on the other hand, never indicated any remorse whatsoever. The smirk on her face was a disturbing reminder that this particular child has much deeper issues than what can be fixed by insisting upon a much less than willing apology.

As a result of this “bad behavior,” I doubt the children will suffer any consequences. I, on the other hand, can no longer drive my car until it is repaired. The glass on the back windshield is completely shattered. Even closing the car doors after the deputy and I inspected the inside of the car for rocks was a danger in the whole window falling out. The parents told me that they would pay for the damages. I truly hope this is the case because I don’t have $400 for a new back windshield.

3 thoughts on “Shattered

  1. Pingback: Another Storm’s On Its Way | Echoes of My Past

  2. Pingback: Cracked | Echoes of My Past

  3. Pingback: My Story – Part 10 (My Relationship with KR) | Echoes of My Past

Leave a Reply

