The Medication Chase

I had a lot of errands to run today. One of those errands included stopping by the mental health center where I receive care to refill my prescription of Latuda. Since I have no health insurance other than TN’s Safety Net which apparently doesn’t cover medication, the pharmacist was filing for medication assistance through Sunovion, the company that makes the drug. The pharmacy began this process two weeks ago, yet the nurse practitioner, NP, I see was on vacation and didn’t sign off on the paperwork. When I spoke to my counselor about this two weeks ago, he assured me that the psychiatrist at the center, Dr. A, could sign the paperwork, as my counselor specifically asked Dr. A about this problem.

However, come to find out today, the pharmacist never gave the paperwork to the psychiatrist to be signed at all — despite me relaying the message given to me by my counselor from Dr. A to the pharmacist. When I asked her why she didn’t give it to Dr. A to be signed, she told me that it had to be signed by the nurse practitioner who is prescribing the medication, who has been on vacation for the last 2 weeks. Also, it takes at least 2 weeks for the paperwork to go through once it’s all signed and ready to go, if I understood her correctly; so I would still have to wait another 2 weeks even if it does happen to get signed.

Fuck it! I walked out, aggravated and convinced getting the Latuda is more trouble than it’s worth. I’m done. It’s not helping anyway. I gave it a total of 5 weeks and a day. I don’t know what difference I’m supposed to be noticing, but I fail to see a change in either my mood or thinking for the better. Every part of me is screaming, “Quit taking it!” So I will. I cut my last pill in half with a razor blade. I’ll take half tonight and half tomorrow night to bring the dose back down from 40 mg to 20 mg. I have one more 7-day supply sample pack of the 20 mg pills to wean myself off if need be; but honestly, I want to stop taking it altogether without going through all the hassle.

I see no point in continuing to waste time and energy on this. My stubbornness has taken over and is refusing to back down. I will not chase a damn prescription medication that I didn’t even want to take in the first place as if it’s some street drug. No thanks! The possibility that the medication might eventually start helping at some point is not incentive enough for me to stay on it, especially given the side effects and reasons I went into in an earlier post.

One thought on “The Medication Chase

  1. Pingback: Rambling | Echoes of My Past

Leave a Reply

